Yes, I have scars.

ceramic-bowl

Since we’re being honest… here is a marvelous picture of wholeness from Abbie!

abbie in wondrland

When you think of scars, do you consider them flaws, or signs of damage or vulnerability?

I did for most of my life. I have some scars that are quite apparent, and more which are not. One of the more obvious (to me) would be the scars from where my ear was re-attached when I was about 18. Yet, in reality, I wear my hair up most of the time and I can recall literally no one noticing it. The closest I’ve come was recently when a co-worker mentioned that I had only one earring in that ear. She hadn’t noticed that it was because the other earring hole was too close to the edge of my lobe, due to the scarring, to realistically put in an earring; just that there were 2 earrings in one ear, and only one in the other.

I read a post recently that talked…

View original post 592 more words

5 thoughts on “Yes, I have scars.

    • One of the great delusions that keeps us running like hamsters on the wheel is that we need to be perfect. I am always so grateful when an honest soul bellies up and shatters that lie! I’ve got ’em, too, Derrick! Thanks for your encouragement 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your candor, Deepak. It’s a tough road to hoe all alone. The surprising twist we see in Abbie’s post is that our weakness is God’s fertile ground, and from these wounds grow strong trees that bear fruit in others’ lives!

      Jesus said, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

      Like

Leave a Reply

