Distant Memories

woman-tears

I used to think the space between us
was geography.
That I had a monopoly.
That we were about quality not quantity.

And then I found my photo in your things.
That box that you abandoned here last Spring.

You weren’t looking at me when I called.
You weren’t looking at me at all.

I used to believe you were part of me.
Homogeny. And honestly,
My heart stopped when you lied to me.

But though I tried to close the distance, in your eyes
I saw indifference. And it hurts. I want to hide.

Distant Memories is a response to MiracleGirlBlog‘s writing prompt assignment, Week 4 – to use “distance” and “photo” in a poem. Check out her site to see some of the entries from past weeks. Thanks, Miracle – you are so generous!

 

16 thoughts on “Distant Memories

  1. Pingback: “MiracleChallenge Week – 5” dated 12th – 18th July, 2016 – miraclegirlblog

  2. Reblogged this on miraclegirlblog and commented:
    Hello Everyone !

    Check out the latest post for ‘Weekly Writing #MiracleChallenge’. This is for last week i.e. Week – 4 Miracle Challenge dated 5th July . Even though, I received the poem this week, I couldn’t stop myself to share this beautiful piece.

    Blogger : Sharon (AskRiverBed)

    Poem Title : Distant Memories

    Challenge No : 2

    Challenge : Write a poem using prompt words
    * Distance *Photo

    For those who are new to #MiracleChallenge, every Tuesday morning, I post new Writing prompts for 5 challenges to write Short Story / Tiny Tale/ Poem / Haiku.

    Visit my blog or click the linkbelow :
    https://miraclegirlblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/12/miraclechallenge-week-5-dated-12th-july-2016/
    to know the latest writing prompts and the rules to participate in #MiracleChallenge for the week dated from 12th to 18th july, 2016. Yes ! 18th July is the deadline.

    Kindly, everyone read and inspire each other to write.

    Happy Blogging !

    Enjoy and have fun:)

    From,

    Miracle:)

    Like

  3. Hello Sharon !

    How are you? I was expecting to hear from you. But then, I thought You might be in busy in some work. i’m glad you participated. Though this challenge is of last week, I loved the pain and emotions described in your poem. This is brilliant use of prompt words ‘ Photo’ and ‘DIstance’.
    I loved every word you used in your poem.
    Thank you for participating and for your encouraging words in your posts for #MiracleChallenge 🙂
    Kindly follow the format also so that new bloggers can know the prompts and challenge 😀

    I have new and inspiring writing prompts for this week, in my blog. The deadline is 18th July.
    Here is the link : https://miraclegirlblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/12/miraclechallenge-week-5-dated-12th-july-2016/

    All the best !
    Have fun !
    Lots of love !

    From,
    Miracle 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks again, Miracle!! If I am slow about getting your challenge posted, please know it is only because I don’t always know how to repost (the technical side of all this is very often beyond me!) But I’m learning… you are a great encouragement – thank you!! Can’t wait to read what the team has come up with from last week’s prompts, and I’ll try to get my week 5 into your cache on deadline 🙂

      So glad to be a part of this wonderful, supportive community!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah ! Not at a problem. Take your time. I can understand, the same my mom too face it.
        Technology is not tough, if you use it regularly. Everything will be infront of us but in fear we miss them. That’s it.
        Yayy ! That’s good to hear that you are reading other’s entries too. I actually this kind of interaction only.
        Aww ! Thank you so much for your kind words. That’s encouraging for me 😃
        I’m looking forward to read more and more of yours.
        All the best ☺

        Like

  4. Oh, such beautiful misery…reminds me of a song…”why you forgot me, I do not know. You do not recall my name. ‘Must be sweet misery, I’ll have you know I feel the same….”
    Your poem is absolutely, heart-wrenchingly amazing….thanks for sharing…I hope that if it is biographical, it speaks of historic betrayal and suffering…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

